America

Chichen Itzá and Mérida Welcome to Mexico !, Mérida

Pin
Send
Share
Send


The great day of trip to MexicoThat morning we would go from excursion to Chinchen Itzá star of the Mexican Mayan ruins and one of the new wonders of the world. After the visit, we move to the beautiful colonial city of Mérida.

Six in the morning, the mobile alarm went off. Our intention was to be at eight o'clock at the door of Chichen Itza, because it is the time when the lockers open, and thus visit the new wonder of the world with few people and little heat. While we were having breakfast, we debated whether to go there in a bus or on a route bus, and a waiter informed us that both means passed every half hour. What time? That is a mystery because, as in Italy and Spain, it happens when it happens. While I was eating a plate of fresh fruit, I saw two buses and a route bus parading in front of me minutes apart ... Well, you have to go by taxi. We called a taxi and, while we waited for him, we watched as several more buses passed by. Pass ... pass, more than one every half hour, sure. When? Another of the innumerable Mayan mysteries that remain to be deciphered.

At eight o'clock we arrived at the door, we left our bags in the locker Free and we bought the ticket (having attended the night before the light and sound show, we only had to pay the difference). At the entrance we were approached by a guide who offered us his services, but we told him that we had met a guide the day before to visit him. We waited for about 10 minutes and the other guide told us that he was coming later or not coming ... pressing very professionally so we would not waste time. As I did not have the credential hanging around my neck, I told him to please show it to me because I did not want to hire a pirate guide and, being all in order, we decided to do the guided tour with him without further delay.

Felipe was in his sixties and he told us many stories about Chichen Itza and the Mayan culture. Chichen Itza are the most famous and best restored Mayan ruins of the Yucatan and I would say that of Mexico. Since 2007, and after a popular vote, it was declared a new wonder of the world. «The castle» or pyramid of Kukulkan It is the most famous and most representative building of the entire site. The visit started there. Felipe explained that if we took out a machete and went into the jungle we could still discover some ruin, since the city stretched many kilometers around (about 35? I don't remember it well), of which only a few had been restored few.

Ball game

What Felipe insisted on was all that had to do with human sacrifices. For the Maya, human sacrifices were a way of venerating the gods, so for the sacrificed it was also an honor. Of course, the vision of Hollywood is always more sensational and, despite the fact that human sacrifices were made, they were not made every day, but on special occasions.

The castle It was originally built by the Toltecs and later, in the year 800, the current one was erected on top of it. Actually, the pyramid is a representation of the Mayan calendar 25 meters high. Each of the four stairs has 91 steps and if you add them together with the upper platform it gives a total of 365. Besides, it has an impressive acoustics, so when the maximum leader or priest wanted to address the masses, He could do from the top of the pyramid without having to lose heart in the attempt. Currently you can not climb the pyramid because a few years ago someone fell and is said to be killed. But it does not surprise me, each step is half a foot wide, so you had to do it on your side to get off. If we add to this difficulty fatigue, heat and the hundreds of people who had to climb there, the misfortune was more than guaranteed.

After visiting «the castle» we went to another of the mythical places: The great ball game. This game was a competition and at the same time a ritual to honor the gods. The most important god in Chichen Itza was Chaak or Tlaloc, god of rain. It is believed that the ball game was varying according to the years, but basically what they had to do was to pass the ball through the stone ring after it bounced off the wall. The one who scored, won, and normally when it was marked the game was over since scoring was extremely difficult. When the ball game was done as a ritual, it is not clear whether the captain of the winning team or the defeated team was sacrificed. Those who participated in the game were strong warriors, so it is understood that only one of the two would be sacrificed on "special" occasions, because if it were done every day, they would soon be left unprotected.

The court of the great ball game also had incredible acoustics, and the noise that the ball should make when it collided with the wall should have been deafening.

After the ball game, we walked 300 meters to the sacred Cenote. This cenote has a diameter of 60 meters and 35 deep, and there also sacrifices were made. In fact, Felipe explained to us that the selected person was chosen and prepared for months for the "event." Normally they selected people of great faith so as not to make the high priest look bad, but even so, not to take risks, hours before they used to enjoy and luxuriously dress the above, they gave him a “happy trip” with some opioid and, if it weren't enough, they put him in a sauna for a little while. Anyway, that the poor unhappy, who apart could not swim, was thrown into the water and died drowned without offering any resistance. Years ago the bottom of the cenote was explored and many bones and gold jewelry were found.

Sacred Cenote

As there was little time left, we went directly to the other end of the archaeological park to see «El Caracol» and the «building of the nuns». "The snail" is believed to be an observatory and the "nun building" (they gave it that name because the stone was carved as if it were a lattice) a palace.

As at 10.30 our first bus passed, at 10.15 we ran towards the exit to collect our bags and get on the bus. We thought that we would have plenty of time, and in the end we had to run to the entrance. Felipe called from his cell phone to ask if it had already happened, and that if he arrived they would notify us that we had the tickets, but when we arrived at the parking lot (there is no bus stop in Chichen Itza) they told us that it had happened before the time and that had gone. Nor did we have much time to complain, since at that precise moment a second bus arrived and one of the ADO workers there was arranged with the bus of the other company so that we could go on it. What happens is that the price and the duration of the journey to Merida were not exactly the same.

Nuns Building

The second or route buses are less comfortable than the first ones, but they are still very comfortable and have air conditioning. What happens is that they usually take longer because, as one can get on and off with just making a signal, stop everywhere. We went through typical villages of low houses and painted with bright colors that stretched along the road. From time to time, a street food vendor went up selling supplies to passengers and, when finished, got off to wait for another bus. Two hours later we arrive at Merida.

The feelings I had when getting off the bus in Mérida is something I would not know how to explain. An employee of the station asked us where we were going and the truth is that we were so disoriented, that we told him to indicate the way to the town hall. In the end, a few meters later we reconsidered and asked how the hotel was reached. In Mérida, the streets instead of name are numbered. From north to south they are odd and from east to west even. While we were dragging our suitcases, we walked through a crowded shopping streets of people who came and went in all directions, with cars everywhere sounding their horns and shops of all kinds with music at full volume and heat, very hot. As we made our way through the crowd, I felt like Dr. Marcus Brody in Indiana Jones and the last crusade, lost and shouting, "Does anyone speak my language?" But everyone did it and yet I felt disoriented in the face of so much human chaos. "Welcome to Mexico!" I said with a smile from ear to ear to my partner, we have finally arrived! 🙂

Pin
Send
Share
Send

Amérique

Chichen Itzá et Mérida Bienvenue au Mexique!, Mérida

Pin
Send
Share
Send


Le grand jour de voyage au MexiqueCe matin nous partirions de excursion à Chinchen Itzá star du Ruines mayas mexicaines et l'une des nouvelles merveilles du monde. Après la visite, nous passons à la belle ville coloniale de Mérida.

Six heures du matin, l'alarme mobile s'est déclenchée. Notre intention était d'être à huit heures à la porte de Chichen Itza, parce que c'est l'heure de l'ouverture des casiers et donc de visiter la nouvelle merveille du monde avec peu de monde et peu de chaleur. Pendant que nous prenions notre petit déjeuner, nous nous sommes demandé si nous devions y aller en bus ou en bus de ligne. Un serveur nous a informés que les deux moyens passaient toutes les demi-heures. À quelle heure? C'est un mystère car, comme en Italie et en Espagne, cela se produit quand cela se produit. Alors que je mangeais une assiette de fruits frais, j'ai vu deux bus et un bus qui défilaient devant moi à quelques minutes de distance ... Eh bien, vous devez y aller en taxi. Nous avons appelé un taxi et, pendant que nous l'attendions, nous avons vu passer plusieurs autres autobus. Pass ... passe, plus d'un toutes les demi-heures, bien sûr. Quand Un autre des innombrables mystères mayas qui restent à déchiffrer.

À huit heures nous sommes arrivés à la porte, nous avons laissé nos sacs dans le casier Gratuit et nous avons acheté le billet (après avoir assisté à la soirée précédant le spectacle son et lumière, nous n'avions qu'à payer la différence). À l'entrée, un guide nous a demandé de nous servir, mais nous lui avons dit que nous avions rencontré un guide la veille pour lui rendre visite. Nous avons attendu environ 10 minutes et l’autre guide nous a dit qu’il viendrait plus tard ou ne viendrait pas… pressant avec beaucoup de professionnalisme pour ne pas perdre de temps. N'ayant pas les lettres de créance au cou, je lui ai dit de bien vouloir me les montrer, car je ne voulais pas embaucher de guide pirate. Comme tout était en ordre, nous avons décidé de faire la visite guidée avec lui sans plus attendre.

Felipe était dans la soixantaine et il nous a raconté de nombreuses histoires à propos de Chichen Itza et la culture maya. Chichen Itza sont les ruines mayas les plus célèbres et les mieux restaurées du Yucatan et je dirais celles du Mexique. Depuis 2007, et après un vote populaire, il a été déclaré nouvelle merveille du monde. «Le château» ou pyramide de Kukulkan C'est le bâtiment le plus célèbre et le plus représentatif de l'ensemble du site. La visite a commencé par là. Felipe a expliqué que si nous sortions une machette et allions dans la jungle, nous pourrions encore découvrir des ruines, car la ville s'étendait sur plusieurs kilomètres (environ 35? Je ne m'en souviens pas très bien), dont seulement quelques-uns avaient été restaurés peu.

Jeu de balle

Ce sur quoi Felipe a insisté était tout ce qui concernait les sacrifices humains. Pour les Mayas, les sacrifices humains étaient un moyen de vénérer les dieux, donc pour les sacrifiés, c'était aussi un honneur. Bien entendu, la vision d’Hollywood est toujours plus sensationnelle et, malgré le fait que des sacrifices humains ont été consentis, ils ne l’ont pas été tous les jours, mais à des occasions spéciales.

Le château Il a été construit à l'origine par les Toltèques et plus tard, en l'an 800, l'actuel a été érigé au-dessus. En réalité, la pyramide est une représentation du calendrier maya de 25 mètres de haut. Chacune des quatre marches comporte 91 marches. Si vous les ajoutez à la plate-forme supérieure, vous obtiendrez un total de 365. En outre, son acoustique est impressionnante. Ainsi, lorsque le chef suprême ou le prêtre veut s'adresser aux masses, Il pourrait le faire du haut de la pyramide sans avoir à perdre courage à la tentative. Actuellement, vous ne pouvez pas gravir la pyramide, car il y a quelques années, une personne est tombée et aurait été tuée. Mais ça ne me surprend pas, chaque marche fait un demi-pied de large, donc il fallait le faire de son côté pour descendre. Si nous ajoutons à cette difficulté fatigue, chaleur et les centaines de personnes qui ont dû y monter, le malheur était plus que garanti.

Après avoir visité «le château», nous nous sommes rendus dans un autre lieu mythique: Le grand jeu de balle. Ce jeu était à la fois une compétition et un rituel pour honorer les dieux. Le dieu le plus important à Chichen Itza était Chaak ou Tlaloc, dieu de la pluie. On pense que le jeu de balle a varié en fonction des années, mais essentiellement, ils devaient passer la balle à travers l'anneau de pierre après son rebond contre le mur. Celui qui a marqué, gagné, et normalement quand il a été marqué, le jeu était terminé puisque marquer était extrêmement difficile. Lorsque le jeu de balle était terminé comme un rituel, il n’était pas clair si le capitaine de l’équipe gagnante ou de l’équipe défaite avait été sacrifié. Ceux qui ont participé au jeu étaient de puissants guerriers, il est donc entendu qu'un seul des deux serait sacrifié lors d'occasions "spéciales", car si cela se faisait tous les jours, ils seraient bientôt laissés sans protection.

La cour du grand jeu de balle avait aussi une acoustique incroyable, et le bruit que la balle devrait faire quand elle entrait en collision avec le mur aurait dû être assourdissant.

Après le match de base-ball, nous avons marché 300 mètres jusqu'au cénote sacré. Ce cenote a un diamètre de 60 mètres et une profondeur de 35 mètres. Des sacrifices ont également été consentis. En fait, Felipe nous a expliqué que la personne sélectionnée avait été choisie et préparée pendant des mois pour "l'événement". Normalement, ils choisissaient des personnes de grande foi pour ne pas gâcher le souverain sacrificateur, mais malgré tout, pour ne pas prendre de risques, des heures avant de les apprécier et de les vêtir luxueusement, ils lui donnaient un «bon voyage» avec un opioïde et, si ce n'était pas le cas. assez, ils l'ont mis dans un sauna pendant un petit moment. Quoi qu'il en soit, le pauvre malheureux, qui ne savait pas nager à part, a été jeté à l'eau et est mort noyé sans offrir aucune résistance. Il y a des années, le fond du cénote a été exploré et de nombreux os et bijoux en or ont été trouvés.

Cénote sacré

Comme il restait peu de temps, nous sommes allés directement à l’autre bout du parc archéologique pour voir «El Caracol» et «la construction des religieuses». "L'escargot" est censé être un observatoire et le "bâtiment de la religieuse" (ils lui ont donné ce nom parce que la pierre a été sculptée comme s'il s'agissait d'un treillis) un palais.

À 10h30, notre premier bus est passé. À 10h15, nous avons couru vers la sortie pour récupérer nos bagages et monter dans le bus. Nous pensions avoir beaucoup de temps et nous avons dû courir à l'entrée. Felipe a appelé de son téléphone portable pour demander si c'était déjà arrivé et que s'il arrivait, ils nous informeraient que nous avions les billets, mais quand nous sommes arrivés sur le parking (il n'y a pas d'arrêt de bus à Chichen Itza), ils nous ont dit que c'était arrivé avant l'heure et que était allé. Nous n'avons pas eu non plus beaucoup de temps pour nous plaindre, car à ce moment précis, un deuxième bus est arrivé et l'un des travailleurs d'ADO sur place a été arrangé avec le bus de l'autre compagnie pour que nous puissions continuer. Qu'est-ce qui se passe, c'est que le prix et la durée du voyage à Mérida n'étaient pas exactement les mêmes.

Bâtiment des religieuses

Les deuxièmes autobus ou itinéraires sont moins confortables que les premiers, mais ils sont toujours très confortables et climatisés. Ce qui se passe, c’est qu’ils prennent généralement plus de temps parce que, comme on peut monter et descendre simplement en faisant un signal, s’arrêter partout. Nous avons traversé des villages typiques de maisons basses et peints avec des couleurs vives qui s'étendent le long de la route. De temps en temps, un vendeur de nourriture de rue montait vendre des fournitures aux passagers et, une fois terminé, attendait un autre bus. Deux heures plus tard nous arrivons à Mérida.

Je ne saurais pas comment vous expliquer les sentiments que j'ai éprouvés en descendant de l'autobus à Mérida. Un employé de la station nous a demandé où nous allions et la vérité est que nous étions si désorientés que nous lui avons dit d'indiquer le chemin à suivre pour se rendre à la mairie. À la fin, quelques mètres plus tard, nous avons repensé et demandé comment l’hôtel avait été rejoint. À Mérida, les rues au lieu de nom sont numérotées. Du nord au sud, ils sont impairs et d’est en ouest. Pendant que nous traînions nos valises, nous avons traversé les rues commerçantes bondées de gens qui allaient et venaient dans toutes les directions, avec des voitures sonnant partout et des boutiques de toutes sortes avec de la musique à plein volume et très chaud. Alors que nous traversions la foule, je me sentais comme le docteur Marcus Brody dans Indiana Jones et la dernière croisade, perdus et criant: "Quelqu'un parle-t-il ma langue?" Mais tout le monde l'a fait et pourtant je me suis senti désorienté face à tant de chaos humain. "Bienvenue au Mexique!" Dis-je avec un sourire aux oreilles à mon partenaire, nous sommes enfin arrivés! 🙂

Pin
Send
Share
Send